Powerboat: official calendar of the 2014 UIM XCAT World Series

Boat Skydive Dubai N. 7 during the first round of the 2014 UIM XCAT World SeriesAs the 15 teams completed the first round of the UIM Skydive Dubai XCAT World Series in Dubai, organisers have announced the official calendar 2014, which will inculde Daytona, Florida.


Round 1 Dubai – UAE: 23 – 25 Jan
Round 2 Fujairah – UAE: 12 ‐ 14 Feb
Round 3 Daytona – USA – 11 – 13 April
Round 4  Napoli- Italy: 6 – 8 June
Round 5 Lugano – Switzerland : 20 – 22 June
Round 6 Stresa – Italy: 11 – 13 July
Round 7 Baku – Azerbaijan: 29 – 31 August
Round 8 Ningbo – China: 24 – 26 October
Round 9 Hining Dao – China: 7-9 Nov
Final Round Dubai – UAE: 11 – 13 Dec

One of the pilots particularly thrilled with the announcement was American Jay Price who revealed that this will be the first time he will race on home waters in 20 years.

These are exciting times for the UIM Skydive Dubai XCAT World Series. We have been working tirelessly to set up the Series for 2014 as we constantly look to improve and expand what is fast becoming the most competitive form of powerboat racing in the world.

2013 was a great season as we took the Series to three new locations, with wonderfully successful events in Stresa and Arona in Italy and Ningbo, China.

The USA was always one of our targets since we launched the XCAT project last year, and now we have a great opportunity to enter the US market. And 2014 will also be a year of growth as we initiate many new developments and we look forward to introducing XCAT racing to several new locations while also, of course, remembering our roots in the Middle East.

said Sid Bensalah, Secretary General of the WPPA – organisers and promoters of the Series.

Teams will be travelling to three continents over the coming year as the thrilling action spans the globe from January to December 2014. With the Series continually expanding, there will be 10 races in the coming season, with the second race of the year scheduled for Fujairah, UAE in the middle of February.

Like in 2013, China and Italy will once again be part of the programme, with two races each, and racing will also take place in Azerbaijan, Switzerland and the USA for the first time.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *